Tags

, , ,

I love spending time in my studio. Its purpose built (lucky me!) and is a wonderful creative space. Its full of light, table that is the right height for cutting, ironing station that will take a full selvage to selvage piece of fabric, two massive tables that I work on and will separate so that I can baste on without grovelling about the floor and breaking my back.

Floor Basting

Floor Basting

Marcus, my partner, used to be my baster for me. Throughout the house the floor is brick tiles and it was easy to square the backing on the floor and stick it down with masking tape before layering the batting and quilt on top. Now I have the tables he no longer sits cross legged like a maharajah in the middle of the quilt pin basting it. I think he misses it.

Table Basting

Table Basting

When I worked on the dining table he felt much more involved in what I was doing, he would come home from work and immediately he was immersed in my work, often he would come home and find blocks pinned to the curtains as I didn’t have a design wall. Or he’d get home and there would be fabric draped over the chairs in groups of different colours as I decided what I was going to use for the next quilt. The floor always had threads and clippings on them and if not collected up quickly would spread throughout the house with the help of our two schnauzers.

Now I’m in the studio the house is now a home and not a workspace and home. I shut the studio door and walk 10 m and I’m home. That’s a commute most people would die for. Work now stays at work and home is what it should be, a place to relax.

The floor in the studio is bamboo and easily swept and is relatively lint free, the stashes are kept in the store room and the repro stash is kept under the cutting table. My darling dogs don’t visit often, they don’t like the bamboo floor – its too slippery and they slide about all over the place. They are getting old and I guess the slipping hurts their hips and joints. I miss them sitting on my feet and generally getting in the way, but the studio is also my class room and not everyone likes dogs or where dogs have been so they have been kept out of the studio.

I have rearranged it several times and the last reorganisation I think is the best. It has given me a much more versatile space.

Original Set up

Original Set up

Latest Set Up

Latest Set Up

Its given me room to separate the tables and accommodate more visitors and students in the studio than before. Previously I thought that I could manage maybe four but now I believe that seven could be easily accommodated.

Set up for 6 person workshop

Set up for 6 person workshop

This is so exciting. I thought I was going to be limited to small groups but seven is a good size group. We have several bed and breakfast places in Buninyong and Ballarat has several hotels that would make a two day workshop a definite possibility.

Actually I have a five person two day workshop already booked and they are coming next weekend. I have to say that I am so excited. Its my first one and I have no idea how it will go, except that I have taught them before earlier this year so I know that we all get along famously. Any slight hiccup and we’ll be sure to laugh it off.

The class is an Introduction to Machine Applique – not only am I teaching in my studio for the first time I’m teaching Confederate Rose to most of the group too. A double wammy of firsts.

Confederate Rose

Confederate Rose

Its going to be a great weekend what ever happens and you can be sure that I will share with you next week a late entry with news of how it went.

 

 

(If you are interested in a one or two day workshop here in my studio on Mt Buninyong the list of classes I run and the schedule of fees is found on my website: http://www.neilchisholmdesigns.com/tuition. I can be contacted by emailing me at nrc.mch@bigpond.net.au or neil@neilchisholmdesigns.com)

 

 

